Things I realized today

  1. Sitting at the table in my apartment as opposed to my bed makes me feel more productive and generally better about life.
  2. I’m grateful that I have taken the time to write so much in the past because it helped me pound out an eight-page piece to hand-deliver to my workshop peers tomorrow. So that they can all take it home and read it and then tell me everything that was wrong with it the following week. Shit.
  3. I need to start keeping beer, wine, and/or liquor in my refrigerator at all times because I think that I could maybe probably write a lot easier if I could just loosen up and let it flow like the warm, bitter alcohol inside of me. (“Write drunk; edit sober,” said Ernest Hemingway–except I think I read somewhere that he didn’t actually say it, but I like thinking that he did.)

Leave a comment